Pennsylvania drivers like you who are facing DUI charges may be wondering what that means. Will you serve jail time? Will you have to deal with fines and probation periods? The answer is usually yes.
The Pennsylvanian Department of Transportation clearly lays out the general penalties for a DUI conviction. Generally speaking, the higher someone's blood alcohol content (BAC) levels are, the higher their potential penalty. In addition to that, there are options that allow for addiction treatment no matter what level of offense you're saddled with, which can be a relief if you genuinely wish to seek help for any problems that may have led to a DUI.
However, the penalties themselves can be harsh. Even a first-time conviction with a previously clean record can land you with fines of up to $300, the possibility of 6 months on probation, and an ungraded misdemeanor. You may be ordered to seek treatment regardless of your desires, and you will also be required to attend a safety school. If you land yourself with another DUI after that, the fine bumps up and can range anywhere from $300 to $2,500. Not only do you face some of the same penalties such as treatment and safety school, but you can also land yourself with 5 days to 6 months in jail, 12 months of license suspension, and 1 year of ignition interlock.
Finally, for offenders with two or more DUI convictions, the fine rises to a maximum of $5,000. You may spend 10 days to 2 years in prison and face the same suspension and interlock punishments from a second offense. These charges are also categorized as a second degree misdemeanor, which can negatively impact your life in many ways.