Pennsylvania increases penalties for multiple convictions of driving under the influence. The impact of a second or subsequent DUI can result in costly fines, loss of license and jail time.
If you or a family member faces this situation, review the details about what to expect when you get another DUI in Pennsylvania after a first offense.
Penalties for second DUI
If you have just one previous DUI, the state treats the second condition as a misdemeanor with blood alcohol content from 0.08% to 0.099%. You could receive up to six months in jail, license suspension for 12 months followed by 12 months of an ignition interlock device, and fines of up to $2,500. You must attend alcohol highway safety school as well as treatment for alcohol use disorder if ordered by the court.
For high BAC, defined as 0.10% to 0.159%, the maximum fine increases to $500. You may also receive a minimum prison sentence of 30 days compared to five days for a second DUI with general impairment.
Penalties for third DUI
A third DUI with general impairment in Pennsylvania carries similar penalties as a second-time DUI with high impairment. If you receive a third DUI with high impairment, legal consequences may include 90 days to five years in prison, an 18-month license suspension, and a fine of up to $10,000.
Regardless of how many previous DUIs you have on your record, you have the right to defend yourself against these charges in court. Doing so may help you protect your future and retain your driving privileges.